× Close Become a Member


Media Releases, Legislative News, Agricultural Updates


Higher education scholarships available

DENVER—Rocky Mountain Farmers Union (RMFU) will offer seven scholarships, each in the amount of $1,000, to Farmers Union young people wishing to pursue post-secondary education. Scholarship applications must be postmarked on or before March 15, 2002, to be considered.

An applicant’s school of choice must conform to GI Bill qualifications. Students planning to pursue higher educations through a correspondence school are not eligible. Previous RMFU scholarship recipients may not apply, and no more than one member from a single family will be awarded a scholarship in the same year. Some scholarships also have residency stipulations. Applicants do not need to specify the scholarship for which they are applying.

To apply, students must provide a current high school or college transcript, ACT or SAT scores, and two letters of recommendation—one from a teacher, principal, superintendent, counselor, or college advisor, and a second from a community member. The application must also include two photos of him/herself, and a letter of at least 100 worlds demonstrating the applicant’s knowledge of Farmers Union and its affiliates, and an explanation of the applicant’s financial need. The letter also should state the college, university or vocational school the applicant plans to attend and its location.

Any current regular or associate member of Rocky Mountain Farmers Union who is a high school senior or who is already enrolled in an institution of higher learning is eligible to apply. Applicants need not have a membership in their own name if their parents are members.

For more information and to obtain an application, contact RMFU’s Lynn Eschbach at 800-373-7638. Mail applications by March 15 to: Rocky Mountain Farmers Union Education Department, 10800 E. Bethany Dr., 4th Flr., Aurora, CO 80014.

Interested in Agriculture?

Share your voice and help shape the future of farming and ranching in the Rocky Mountain region.

Become a Member