× Close Become a Member


Media Releases, Legislative News, Agricultural Updates


Farmers Union Awards Scholarships to Six Outstanding Applicants

For Immediate Release 
Contact: Jennifer Luitjens Bahr (303.752.5800; jennifer.bahr@rmfu.org 

(Denver, CO) — The Rocky Mountain Farmers Union (RMFU) Foundation announces the recipients of six $1,000 scholarships. The awards are given to students with records of outstanding scholastic achievements and community service. The scholarships are funded by RMFU, FUSA Insurance Agency, and memorials honoring long-time leaders in Farmers Union.  

“These recipients are stepping up as future leaders of our communities. The RMFU Foundation is proud to present scholarships to four exceptional young leaders to help them achieve their educational and career goals,” said RMFU Foundation Director Jennifer Luitjens Bahr. The recipients are listed below. 

Kassadee Dickey, Cheyenne Wells, CO (Farmers Union Service Association Scholarship) 

Kassadee is the daughter of Wendy and Devin Dickey of Cheyenne Wells Colorado. Kassadee has been active in Rocky Mountain Farmers Union by participating in day classes, volunteering at the annual Harvest Moon Gala, and attending annual conferences with her mother. Kassadee graduated from Cheyenne Wells High School where she excelled in every field available to her. On top of earning a perfect GPA, Kassadee was president of her student council and NHS, vice president of FFA, and treasurer for her school’s FBLA. She also participated in basketball, volleyball, track, and competitive cheerleading teams. Outside of school, Kassadee is heavily involved in her community through volunteer work. She finds passion in assisting and mentoring in youth programs. Kassadee will be attending Fort Hayes State University in the fall to study Business. Kassadee looks forward to having a career she is passionate about and supporting her local community throughout her life.  

Delaney Draegert, Brush, CO (Hazel Hemphill Memorial Scholarship)  

Delaney is the daughter of Cara and Ryan Draegert of Brush, Colorado. Delaney graduated from Brush High School where she participated in and led many teams and organizations. While attending high school, Delaney established her school district’s first tennis league where she captained her school’s team for two years. She was also a member of the school’s softball team, choir, jazz choir, and held many offices, including president, for both the Brush High School FFA and District 14 FFA. Delaney will be attending West Texas A&M University in the fall to study agriculture media and communications. She has goals to expand public knowledge and awareness of the day-to-day lives of farmers and modern agriculture practices.  

Alexandria Ewertz, Wiggins, CO (Maurice Parker Memorial Scholarship)  

Alexandria is the daughter of Joe Ewertz of Wiggins, Colorado. While attending Brush High School, she was a member of the track team and her school’s first volleyball team to win the 2A state championship. She is also a member of her high school’s NHS and made the dean’s list for her coursework at Morgan Community College. Outside of school, Alexandria diligently helps around her family farm and works as a head coach for High Plains Gymnastics. Alexandria will be continuing her education at Morgan Community College to pursue a nursing degree. In the future, Alexandria hopes to earn a Doctor of Nursing Practice and work at Children’s Hospital in Denver.  

James Lammers, Hotchkiss, CO (Bill Stevenson Memorial Scholarship) 

James has been a member of the Farmers Union for the past six years and has served as Vice President for the Delta County Farmers Unions chapter for the past three years. James received his bachelor’s at the University of Colorado-Boulder and is now working on an MBA at Louisiana State University-Shreveport. He is a graduate of the RMFU Fellows Program and has advocated for family farmers in Washington, DC on behalf of RMFU. James works for Region 10 where he provides economic development planning for rural areas. James will continue his master’s program in the fall, concentrating on Entrepreneurship and Family Enterprise. In the future, James hopes to be a leader in his local community and raise a family with his fiancé in the countryside.  

Savanna Metz, Wheatland, WY (James G. Patton Memorial Scholarship) 

Savanna Metz is the daughter of Pam and Keith Metz of Wheatland, Wyoming. She attended Wheatland High School where she was involved in FBLA, NHS, FFA, and student council. In her senior year, Savanna held the Vice President position for her school’s FFA and placed in many events at the state convention for her skills in agricultural sales and meat evaluation. During her high school career, Savanna was a member of her school’s softball team and managed the school’s wrestling team. Savanna has been given accolades for her determination, patience, and perseverance. Savanna will be attending Oklahoma State University in the fall to pursue a dual degree in Agribusiness and Agriculture Communications.  

Katie Stanhope, Clark, CO (Katheryn Pappenheim Memorial Scholarship) 

Katie Stanhope has participated and been a part of the Farmers Union since 2021, when she was introduced to the Larimer County Farmers Alliance. She later moved to Steamboat Springs where she became a member of the Northwest chapter. Katie is currently attending Aims Community College, and working on finishing her associate degree. Outside of school, Katie works as the Market Coordinator at Community Agriculture Alliance for her local farmer’s market. She enjoys being an active member in her community through volunteering as a ski instructor for five- and six-year-olds as well as being a leader in her church. Katie will be continuing her education at Montana State University next spring where she will study Agriculture Business. In the future, Katie intends to work towards a master’s degree and have a career in education.  


The aforementioned scholarships recognize the following Farmers Union Leaders: Katheryn Pappenheim, former Weld County Farmers Union education director; James Patton, former president of RMFU and National Farmers Union; Hazel Hemphill, former Morgan County education director, and Maurice Parker, long-standing RMFU board member, and Bill Stevenson, former Director of the RMFU Cooperative Development Center. 

The RMFU Foundation promotes the well-being of rural communities and farm and ranch families of Wyoming, Colorado, and New Mexico. The Foundation offers leadership training, and youth education opportunities, and provides professional services to groups and individuals involved in cooperative enterprises, local food initiatives, and hometown community initiatives. 


Interested in Agriculture?

Share your voice and help shape the future of farming and ranching in the Rocky Mountain region.

Become a Member